ITERATIVE DESIGN (II)____LAZER IDEA

We have been given a new brief for the subject Iterative Design in which we have to create an interactive piece that will be tested in the foyer of Waymouth house.

I came up with an idea which I can not create because it is too complicated at this stage. However, I will describe it since I really find it funny, interesting and playful, and I might construct it in a future.

My idea takes as a reference a laser pointer.

I remember when I was a kid, there was a period of time when this gadget became very popular among children and young people. Everyone wanted to have one, and I was not less. There were different colours of light, divers potency, and the head was changeable so that different figures could be projected.

laserg1 puntero_laser_llavero

I remember to have had so much fun hiding behind a fence and pointing to the feet of people who was walking in the street. They used to get crazy looking everywhere around to see where the small and cheeky light came from. In other occasions, I was the object of the game and it was not as funny as when I was the subject.

What it came to my mind, was to create a system that captures movement, so that when someone got into the space, the computer detected that movement, and consecutively, it sent the coordinates to an Arduino that would turn on the laser pointer, pointing to the feet, body and surrounds of that person. There could be different Arduinos situated in diverse points in the space and they could be working alternatively.

It would only be an experimental way of having fun and see how people react to the light point or figure.

 

PERSON WHO NEVER HAS SEEN A LASER POINTER BEFORE:

PAINFUL JOKE WITH DOG AND LASER POINTER:

LASER SNIPER PRANK:

ALL SORT OF ANIMALS AND LASER POINTER:

Leave a Reply

